Exhibition

Celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Canadian Cultural Centre in Paris, this production gathers together over a hundred unseen-before photographs by major artists of the contemporary Canadian scene as well as a citizens’section presenting fifty images sent from Canada and from France.

Created during the lockdown, this exhibition was elaborated from requests made to artists to send three images representing a current and personal vision of their world, a symbolic project specifically designed for France and consciously addressed to the French. Mostly comprising photographs made with the technology and in the spirit of the smartphone, Image... Sent also underlines the Canada-France relationship through the reciprocity of the citizens’panel.

Exhibition's video teaser

This production of the Canadian Cultural Centre in Paris brings together around a hundred unseen-before images made by major artists of the contemporary Canadian scene who are tightly connected to the history of the institution. It also gathers fifty images received from citizens from Canada and France, which were selected during a large participatory project conducted during the Covid-19 lockdown. 

A collective invention challenging certain rules of a standard exhibition, Image...Sent is both homogenous and mixed. Driven by an inner force showing an exceptional common enthusiasm, it enhances the 50th anniversary of the Canadian Cultural Centre in Paris as it willed to celebrate its history by commenting the present time.

The selected Canadian artists were invited to make or gather three images which, in their eyes, would compose a meaningful personal worldview telling about their environment, rooted in a territory and a (real or imaginary) place having a symbolic dimension. This special creation was to be gifted specifically to the French people. Whether in the private or public space, with poetic or political overtones, intimate, militant, biting, socially or ecologically conscious, each creation joins a common denominator (a similar format and medium for all) and participates in a whole, creating some sort of subjective national portrait. Three images to open the game and also remind us that we are here showing artistic practices developed over time. Three images to create a diversity of space-time effects through a range of triptychs unconnected to each other, which yet resonate with affinities and contrasts. 

As for the citizens, they were asked for only one image, made in the spontaneous spirit of the smartphone and to them a powerful representation of the time, concentrating what was most precious in that period of distancing and what they would like to offer to their counterpart in the unique framework of a cultural relationship between two nations, Canada and France. The citizens’section of Image...Sent thus displays a composition of vernacular images made in a totally unique spirit of sharing, although linked to the very global ''vehicular'' langage of the image-message that everyone constantly sends with their smartphone.

Observing the present time as well as the absence—of people in the streets, of persons dear to us and whom we are prevented from seeing and touching—, reshuffling the cards and questioning our preconceptions about the ''cliché'' (stereotype and snapshot), Image... Sent packs a variety of emotions, values, and convictions. It features visions of the world and as many subjectivities, local outlooks subtly marked by a situation of global crisis, as well as the unbounded appropriation of the image. It also wonders about what makes the eye of an artist and that of a citizen. At a deep level, it is about the relationship of humanity and its environment, about one's relationship to fellow humans, which is expressed here in no less than an instance of international cultural connection.

This exhibition has been conceived in close collaboration with the italian studio Pitis e Associati which created the material and virtual design. My warmest thanks go to Massimo Pitis, Marie-Laure Jouve, Matteo Benetti, to our technical expert Christophe Lebrun who was crucial in the production of this project, and also to Davide Valtorta and Valentina Solinas from Publionda. The material installation has been done with talent and care by our crew of installers Judith Marin, Arnaud Tranchard, Olivier Dusnasi, Rachid Drahmani. I also thank my collegues from the Canadian Cultural Centre who each had a role to play at a moment or another : Jean-Richard Gauthier, Julien Glaumaud, Manuela Monteiro from the administration section ; Vololona Savy who welcomes our public; Marie Cousin, Lisa Eymet, Marion Rayet under the direction of Frédérique Tsai for communication and promotion, and the Centre’s director Caitlin Workman who supported and accompanied the project at each step.  

I wish to express my deepest recognition to the Canadian artists who accepted immediately to participate to this singular project, with enthusiasm and trust, and to the participating citizens – many of whom are also professional artists – whose gazes bring an extraordinary diversity to this collective composition.   

Catherine BÉDARD

Curator
Canadian Cultural Centre

"Whether in the private or public space, with poetic or political overtones,
intimate, militant, biting,
socially or ecologically conscious,
each creation joins a common denominator
(a similar format and medium for all)
and participates in a whole,
creating some sort of subjective national portrait.

Exposition

Célébrant le 50e anniversaire du Centre culturel canadien à Paris, cette production réunit plus d’une centaine de photographies inédites d’artistes majeurs de la scène contemporaine canadienne, ainsi qu’un volet citoyen regroupant cinquante images envoyées du Canada et de la France.  

Créée pendant le confinement, l’exposition s’est élaborée à partir d’une demande faite aux artistes d’envoyer trois images représentant une vision actuelle et personnelle de leur monde, un projet symbolique réalisé spécifiquement pour la France et consciemment adressé aux Français. Faite en grande partie de photographies réalisées avec la technologie et dans l’esprit du téléphone portable, Image… envoyée souligne également, par la réciprocité de sa composante citoyenne, la relation Canada-France.

Présentation de l’exposition en vidéo

Cette production du Centre culturel canadien à Paris réunit une centaine d’images inédites réalisées par des artistes majeurs de la scène contemporaine canadienne étroitement liés à l’histoire de l’institution.  Elle réunit également cinquante images reçues de citoyens et citoyennes du Canada et de la France, sélectionnées dans le cadre d’une vaste opération participative menée pendant le confinement. 

Invention collective défiant certaines règles de l’exposition classique, Image… envoyée est à la fois homogène et hybride.  Habitée par une force intérieure qui est l’expression d’un élan commun de nature exceptionnelle, elle souligne le 50e anniversaire du Centre culturel canadien à Paris, celui-ci ayant pris le parti de célébrer son histoire en parlant du présent. 

Aux artistes canadiens invités il fut proposé de réaliser ou de réunir trois images constituant une représentation du monde significative pour eux, personnelle, parlant de leur environnement, ancrée à un territoire et un milieu (réel ou imaginaire) chargé sur le plan symbolique, et de faire de cela un don, une création conçue spécifiquement à l’adresse des Français. Privée, publique, aux accents poétiques ou politiques, intimiste, militante, ou caustique, affichant une préoccupation sociale ou écologique, chaque création est ramenée à un dénominateur commun (un format et un support semblables pour tous) et s’inscrit dans un tout formant quelque chose comme un portrait national résolument subjectif.  Trois images pour ouvrir le jeu, mais également rappeler qu’elles renvoient à des pratiques artistiques s’étant élaborées dans la durée. Trois images pour créer une diversité d’espaces-temps au sein d’une variété de triptyques à la fois étrangers les uns aux autres mais desquels surgissent affinités et contrastes. 

Aux citoyens il fut au contraire demandé une seule image, réalisée dans l’esprit spontané du téléphone portable et constituant pour eux l’image forte du moment, pouvant concentrer ce qu’il y a de plus précieux en cette période de distanciation et qu’ils souhaitaient offrir à l’autre, dans le cadre singulier d’une relation culturelle entre deux nations, celles du Canada et de la France. La composante citoyenne de Image…envoyée donne lieu à une composition faite d’images vernaculaires réalisées dans un esprit de partage tout à fait singulier et pourtant ancrée au langage « véhiculaire » le plus global qui soit, celui de l’image-message qu’on envoie à tout moment avec son téléphone.  

Regard sur le présent en même temps que sur l’absence (celle des gens dans les rues, celle des personnes qui comptent pour chacun de nous et qu’on est empêché de voir ou de toucher), rebrassant les cartes et mettant à l’épreuve nos jugements sur la notion de « cliché », Image…envoyée condense des émotions, des valeurs et des convictions diverses.  Elle expose des visions du monde et autant de subjectivités, des regards locaux subtilement marqués par une situation de crise globale, et l’appropriation généralisée de l’image. Elle interroge aussi sur ce qu’est le regard d’un artiste et celui d’un citoyen. Son enjeu profond porte sur la relation de l’humain et son environnement, et sur la relation à l’autre qui s’exprime ici à travers rien de moins que la mise en œuvre d’une relation culturelle internationale.

Cette exposition a été conçue en étroite collaboration avec le studio italien Pitis e Associati qui en a réalisé le design matériel et virtuel. Je remercie chaleureusement Massimo Pitis, Marie-Laure Jouve et Matteo Benetti, notre expert technique Christophe Lebrun qui a été crucial pour la réalisation de ce projet, ainsi que Davide Valtorta et Valentina Solinas de l’imprimerie Publionda. L’installation matérielle a été assurée avec soin et talent par notre équipe de monteurs Judith Marin, Arnaud Tranchard, Olivier Dusnasi, Rachid Drahmani. Mes remerciements vont aussi à mes collègues du Centre culturel canadien qui ont eu à un moment ou un autre un rôle à jouer dans la réalisation de cette entreprise collective : Jean-Richard Gauthier, Julien Glaumaud, Manuela Monteiro à l’administration ; Vololona Savy qui accueille le public ; Marie Cousin, Lisa Eymet, Marion Rayet, sous la direction de Frédérique Tsai, pour la communication ; et la directrice du Centre Caitlin Workman qui a soutenu et accompagné le projet de bout en bout.  

Enfin, je tiens à exprimer ma profonde reconnaissance aux artistes canadiens qui ont accepté avec enthousiasme et confiance de participer à ce projet singulier, ainsi qu’aux citoyens participants – dont une grande partie sont aussi des artistes professionnels – dont les regards apportent une diversité extraordinaire à cette composition collective.   

Catherine BÉDARD

Commissaire
Centre culturel canadien

“Privée, publique, aux accents poétiques ou politiques,
intimiste, militante, ou caustique,
affichant une préoccupation sociale ou écologique,
chaque création est ramenée à un dénominateur commun
(un format et un support semblables pour tous)
et s’inscrit dans un tout formant quelque chose
comme un portrait national résolument subjectif.”